1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Fix Pet Auto HP/MP, Rush, Monster HP and Level (Clean Boot)

Discussion in 'Help & Advice' started by violaceopes, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. violaceopes
    Offline

    violaceopes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Calyx
    Guild:
    Radiance
    The failure of the pet auto HP/MP potion pouches (as pictured below) is a frequent issue on Royals. Since the vast majority of players have come to rely on autopotting, particularly for bossing, this bug is inconvenient and frustrating.

    [​IMG]
    Fortunately, it's a bug that's easily resolved.

    The fix is simply performing a clean boot of your operating system, which is quick and easy to do. You may have to repeat the process several weeks or months after a clean boot, but clean booting fixes the problem 100% of the time, for 100% of users. I find it best to do this as monthly preventative maintenance, rather than waiting for my pet to murder me at Zak.

    EDIT: I've been told that this is also a fix for being unable to cast Rush, as well as being unable to see monster level and HP.

    READ THIS FIRST!

    • Always ensure that the "Hide All Microsoft Services" check box is ticked. Failure to do so may force you to restore your device to factory settings.
    • If you're using a pre-built laptop, be sure not to disable any onboard video or audio services, as this results in a critical error. Just after clicking Disable All in Windows XP, Vista, or 7, check manually to ensure that none of these vital non-Microsoft services are disabled. (For example: "Toshiba HDD Accelerator Service".)
    Choose your operating system:

    1. Click Start, click Run, type msconfig, and then click OK.
    2. In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click the General tab, and then click Selective Startup.
    3. Clear the Process SYSTEM.INI File check box.
    4. Clear the Process WIN.INI File check box.
    5. Clear the Load Startup Items check box. Be sure that Load System Services and Use Original BOOT.INI are checked.
    6. Click the Services tab.
    7. Click the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
    8. Click Disable All, and then click OK.
    9. When you are prompted, click Restart to restart the computer.
    10. Log on to Windows.
    11. When you receive the following message, click to select the Don't show this message or launch the System Configuration Utility when Windows starts check box, and then click OK.
    1. Log on to the computer using an account that has administrator rights.
    2. Click Start, type msconfig.exe in the Start Search field, and then press Enter to start the System Configuration utility. Note: if you are prompted for an administrator password or for confirmation, you should type the password or provide confirmation.
    3. In the General tab, click the Selective startup option, and then click to clear the Load startup items check box.
    4. In the Services tab, click to select the Hide all Microsoft services check box, and then click Disable all.
    5. Click OK, then click Restart.
    1. Swipe in from the right edge of the screen, and then tap Search. Or, if you are using a mouse, point to the lower right corner of the screen, and then click Search.
    2. Type msconfig in the search field, and then tap or click msconfig.
    3. On the Services tab of the System Configuration dialog box, tap or click to select the Hide all Microsoft services check box, and then tap or click Disable all.
    4. On the Startup tab of the System Configuration dialog box, tap or click Open Task Manager.
    5. On the Startup tab in Task Manager, for each startup item, select the item and then click Disable.
    6. Close Task Manager.
    7. On the Startup tab of the System Configuration dialog box, tap or click OK, then restart the computer.
    1. Click Start, click Run, type msconfig, and then click OK..
    2. On the Services tab of the System Configuration dialog box, tap or click to select the Hide all Microsoft services check box, and then tap or click Disable all.
    3. On the Startup tab of the System Configuration dialog box, tap or click Open Task Manager.
    4. On the Startup tab in Task Manager, for each startup item, select the item and then click Disable.
    5. Close Task Manager.
    6. On the Startup tab of the System Configuration dialog box, tap or click OK, and then restart the computer.

    (adapted from https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/929135/how-to-perform-a-clean-boot-in-windows)
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2018
    yoncam, baronrojo, Christie and 31 others like this.
  2. Evan
    Offline

    Evan Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    4,901
    Gender:
    Male
    Guild:
    Resignation
    [​IMG]
    (at least for a little while)
     
  3. MoriForest
    Offline

    MoriForest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    9,737
    Country Flag:
    Hi, I'm not very computer literate. What does disabling all the non-Microsoft services do to your computer? Running on Win7 here. I got this after hiding all the MServices.
    [​IMG]
    I take it that I need to keep both the Nvidia services running, but is it safe for me to disable the rest?

    Thanks for guidance.
     
    ginwolf and Guden like this.
  4. Sof
    Offline

    Sof Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    SupremeKai
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Radiance
    You'll want to keep the Google updaters running if you have Google content on your PC. Keep the first Nvidia service running but as for the stereoscopic service, unless you use 3D functionality - i.e. 3D Vision-capable monitor and 3D glasses - then you can set this service to Disabled. Anything I didn't mention can be disabled safely.
     
    yann, ginwolf, Yan and 2 others like this.
  5. Ayane
    Offline

    Ayane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Israel
    IGN:
    KittenPaw
    Level:
    191
    Guild:
    Crew
    lol doesn't work my hurricane ran out of mp even though I had auto mp pot
     
    ginwolf likes this.
  6. Sof
    Offline

    Sof Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    SupremeKai
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Radiance
    HP/MP potion pouches are triggered only when taking damage o_O

    Edit: and every skill but hurricane
     
    ginwolf, Yan, 20Cents and 1 other person like this.
  7. Ayane
    Offline

    Ayane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Israel
    IGN:
    KittenPaw
    Level:
    191
    Guild:
    Crew
    MP pot should be triggered when you go below the mp alert you put on the settings. If you use gen with no mobs at all autopot will still work to heal your mp. Hurricane seems to fail more often than other skills though and this thing didn't fix it at all.
     
    ginwolf and Nemo like this.
  8. Sof
    Offline

    Sof Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    SupremeKai
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Radiance
    Oh yeah skills too, however afaik hurricane is the only skill that doesn't work with auto MP pouches due to having no attack limit. Imagine how overpowered that would be (soloing Krexel's first eye without having to do anything) whereas with other skills you have to constantly move your char back and forth after reaching the cap (100-150 attacks).
     
    ginwolf, Yan and violaceopes like this.
  9. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Administrator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    9,702
    Likes Received:
    13,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Matt
    Level:
    N/A
    Guild:
    Staff
    This isn't the cause of the bug. It's actually caused by the C++ function timeGetTime() which the client uses in multiple areas for a variety of things such as; HP/MP autopot, monster name and HP display, and skills such as Rush, Backspin Blow and Corkscrew Blow. The timeGetTime() function retrieves the system time in milliseconds, this system time is the time elapsed since Windows was started. The problem with using timeGetTime() is that the return value wraps around to 0 every 2^32 milliseconds, which is about 49.71 days. Once the value wraps around it causes the code in the client to no longer be executed properly.
     
  10. Koyomix
    Offline

    Koyomix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Koyomix
    Level:
    128
    By "Clean Boot", do you simply mean restarting your PC or something else?

     
  11. violaceopes
    Offline

    violaceopes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Calyx
    Guild:
    Radiance
    Did you...read the post? Lol
     
    iEatEmoKids, ginwolf, lozy and 7 others like this.
  12. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Administrator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    9,702
    Likes Received:
    13,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Matt
    Level:
    N/A
    Guild:
    Staff
    It's totally avoidable by making sure you do a clean boot of your computer every 49.71 days or less. Clean boots can be different to regular reboots depending on your operating system and settings, therefore regular reboots do not reset the system time for everyone, and so we advise a clean boot.
     
    heyyer, ginwolf, Noll and 1 other person like this.
  13. :re
    Offline

    :re Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    Yo tengo ese problema hace poco me paso en mi laptop Dell .. Ala. Cual mi Pet no me cura y no puedo ver la vida de los moustros... Díganme como puedo hacer para solucionar porfa??
     
  14. violaceopes
    Offline

    violaceopes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Calyx
    Guild:
    Radiance
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2018
  15. FlaskedDwarf
    Offline

    FlaskedDwarf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    IGN:
    FlaskedDwarf
    After doing all this is it ok to enable those services again?
     
  16. violaceopes
    Offline

    violaceopes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Calyx
    Guild:
    Radiance
    I honestly don't know. Experiment and post here as to how it works out for you.
     
    ginwolf likes this.
  17. FlaskedDwarf
    Offline

    FlaskedDwarf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    IGN:
    FlaskedDwarf
    oh yeah, its ok to enable those services again. pet works much better aswell
     
    violaceopes likes this.

Share This Page