black screen dc w/o error message when bossing

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by voon9393, May 30, 2016.

  1. voon9393
    Offline

    voon9393 Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    StoryHeatnix
    Guild:
    Unity
    seriously, i think this issue should be fixed. I did quite a lot of boss runs especially on Horntail and most of the time I have been dced from black screen without showing any error message after the new patch. I believe it's not only me who facing this issue as most of my friends are also dced from black screen too. There is a post that guided players for disable the compatibility but it is only work for part of the people but not everyone. Besides that, I did also tried to ~GM in game and hope for rewrap, but GM might not be available for 24/7 so sometimes it's really difficult to rewrap back to the boss and the time as well as apples and elixir have been wasted. If the notice showing that our feedbacks will be appreciated, i hope that this issue can be fixed in a shorter time.
     
  2. Sila
    Offline

    Sila Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    5,679
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Silachan
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Oblivion
  3. voon9393
    Offline

    voon9393 Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    StoryHeatnix
    Guild:
    Unity
    wow, impressive. seems like there is no problem be4 the patch and I don't even GFX be4 that. But when the new patch come, everthing is my problem.
     
  4. Sila
    Offline

    Sila Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    5,679
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Silachan
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Oblivion
    I've heard people have to GFX more, but this patch shouldn't have changed anything to do with bossing. The only changes that were made with it were a few bosses gaining an HP bar where there was none before but that doesnt have anything to do with Horntail Zakum or Krexel, the three bosses you have to GFX for the most. Just because you "didnt have to" in the past doesn't mean it's suddenly our fault that you're d/cing due to gfx issues.

    We've already discussed it and we've also come to realize it's an issue primarily with Nvidia graphics cards. VMware or frequent gfxing is your fix, if not the compatibility options. I havent changed my compatibility options back, but I've found that it fixed a different issue I was having with my screen resolution being too big.
     
  5. Viperness
    Offline

    Viperness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    XiaoViper
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Hogwarts
    gfx more as a solution? hmmm... :confused::confused::confused:

    i gfx more than often when this patch comes in. Before this patch, there isnt this kind of thing happening even with gfx. After this patch is implemented and installed. I even try all sort of suggested solutions with constant gfx like disable compability, it does works in the first few days even during the intermittent lag spikes period. However, yesterday night(my time) and recently(1 hr ago), the black screen dc seems to be back. I even try other solutions like enable the compability back and try each and every compability versions but to no avail still. However, I havent tried the vmware solution yet which i will try later on this week, but if same thing happened even with the " more than enough gfx" taking, I dont think this is so simple to say as a gfx error issue. *1 week of unsuccessful ht is really annoying af" @_@

    Will update again.

    Regards,
    Ray
     
  6. liomio
    Offline

    liomio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Liomio
    Level:
    162
    @Sila you cannot blindly state that "this patch shouldn't have changed anything to do with bossing." The fact that disabling the compatability prevented a number of people from crashing mid boss means that there are some differences in the client. I don't use an nvidia graphics card and I noticed a rise in strange dcs.

    Since you admit to having some errors after the patch and that you'd found a solution for it. Maybe a stickied post with a range of proven solutions could be helpful so that people don't need to post multiple threads.
     
    Kerrigan and Viperness like this.
  7. Sila
    Offline

    Sila Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    5,679
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Silachan
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Oblivion
    I never once said that I saw more errors after the patch and found a solution for it. Changing compatibility isnt something I understand how it happened, but regardless, I still hold true that nothing should have changed with regards to bosses other than a few of them gaining an HP bar.
     
  8. liomio
    Offline

    liomio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Liomio
    Level:
    162
    My bad, I read that last sentence wrong. However, you can say what the new client should or shouldn't have done all you want, but the reality is that there are some differences that affect bossing. Can't it be possible that whatever was added to the new client(you added native multi clienting too) had some adverse side effects on bossing? I still believe that there should be some kind of stickied thread with a compilation of fixes people have used

    I just saw that Darius has posted some other VMware fix. What if we took his two threads and Andeas' fix and combined them in a big guide for people to see more easily?
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2016
  9. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Administrator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    10,350
    Likes Received:
    14,534
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Matt
    Level:
    N/A
    Guild:
    Staff
    To be fair, we did do an announcement regarding crashing issues already with some possible fixes. If we become aware of further fixes I would gladly do a follow up announcement with more information. It would obviously be in our best interest to ensure we are providing our players with any information that would help them play the game as smoothly as possible. If Darius' fix does turn out to be another valid fix, then I'd gladly make it more visibly prominent, but I don't believe there has been enough feedback to the fix to honour that yet.

    As stated in the announcement, we did not expect this patch to cause these issues. We basically changed a single byte in the client, and added content to the wz files like we usually do in patches. Using the old client with the new wz files does not fix the issue, so it's definitely related to the wz files. The problem is that it does not seem related to a particular part of the wz files which makes it much harder to fix whilst keeping the additional content in the game.
     

Share This Page